University Archives: Procedures for Sending Materials

The University Archives preserves the historical records of NEIU and assists the NEIU community with research projects on those records.

University Archives Collection Policy

Established as a department of the Library in 1980, the University Archives’ chief purpose is to acquire, preserve, and make accessible the official historical record of the University. University Archives collects the records of University departments and offices that are of enduring and historical value once they are past the period of active use. Examples of documents collected and accessioned by the University Archives include: presidential papers, memoranda, council minutes, proceedings, Faculty Senate minutes, records of the Board of Trustees, records of grants and proposals, documents related to University sponsored programs and activities, University budgets, publications of student organizations, and the school newspaper.

University Archives does not accept, and cannot house, any University records that are still in use, whether active or inactive. Offices and departments are advised to ensure that they have no current or frequent need for any records intended for transfer to University Archives. Records sent to University Archives that do not to fit our purpose will not be retained. Examples of University documents that are not collected or stored by the University Archives include: student records, individual vitae of faculty, records of monetary gifts to the University, University bank statements, purchase orders or receipts, and personnel records. As a public collection open to anyone, confidential documents of any kind cannot be accepted.

The Archives Librarian, under the direction of the Associate Dean of Libraries, retains the responsibility and authority in determining which records will be housed in the Archives. The Archives Librarian establishes and maintains procedures to help ensure that only appropriate documents are transferred to the Archives to be processed and included in the collection. Those records and documents sent to the Archives that lack historical relevance will be returned or discarded.

The University Archives primarily collects documents in paper format. Digital formats may be accepted, but they will be evaluated by the Archives Librarian for their historical and enduring value.

The Library encourages the support of all University departments in developing this valuable collection to document our University’s history.

Hours of Operation

The University Archives is located on the lower level of the Ronald Williams Library and is open to researchers Monday through Friday, between the hours of 9:00 am and 5:00 pm (excluding holidays and university closures).

Please make an appointment with a University Archives staff member to ensure the best service for your research request. Contact information is listed below.

University Archives Staff

Hanna Ahn
Archives Librarian

Office: Library LL 006W

Phone: 773-442-4416
h-ahn2@neiu.edu

 

Ellen McMinn Larrimore
Senior Library Specialist

Office: Library LL 015

Phone: 773-442-4402
e-larrimore@neiu.edu

 

Guidelines and Procedures for Sending Materials to the Archives

All departments are welcome to submit materials for the University Archives. Please retain items for seven (7) years before transferring appropriate documents to the University Archives for evaluation of pertinence and importance, and permanent storage.

When an office or department has identified records it wants to archive, there are three (3) basic steps the office should take:

  1. Contact University Archives for an assessment. Assessments may be conducted on-site or by email.
  2. If the records are appropriate for transfer to the University Archives, complete the University Archives Intake Request Form. For digital files, please use the  University Archives Digital Files Transfer Form .
  3. Put the completed University Archives Intake Request Form  or University Archives Digital Files Transfer Form  in the box(es) being transferred to University Archives.

Please follow the detailed procedures with the appropriate shipping form to send documents to the University Archives.

Your Library