Skip to main content

Communication, Media & Theatre Research Guide: Getting Started

Librarian-selected resources for students of CMT

What are the library databases and which one should I use?

In this video, you will learn what a database is (vs. a website or search engine), and how to evaluate which database may be best suited for your own research.

Length: 1:23

What are library databases video

How do I search in a database?

In this video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database.

Length: 1:28

How to Search in a Database Video

Book Locations

Books are assigned Library of Congress call numbers based on their subject and information.

Call numbers beginning with the following letters may be found on the floor indicated below:

A–E: Lower Level

F–G: 1st Floor

H–M: 3rd Floor

N–Z: 4th Floor

REF: 1st Floor

CMC: 3rd Floor

CTR: 3rd Floor

DOC: 2nd Floo

Linking Google Scholar and Library Databases Off-Campus

When you're on-campus and using Google Scholar to conduct research, you'll notice the "Find it @ NEIU" link on the right side of your results page. See below:

Clicking on "Find it @ NEIU" connects you to our Library databases, where you'll often be able to find the full text of the article for free (or be connected to WorldShare interlibrary loan to borrow the article for free from another library).

To see these "Find it @ NEIU" links when you're off-campus, please follow the instructions below to connect Google Scholar to the Library databases.

Best Communication Databases

Best Media Databases

If you're working off-campus, you'll need your NEIU NetID and password to access these resources.

Best Theatre Databases

If you're working off-campus, you'll need your NEIU NetID and password to access these resources.

Need Help?

Alyssa Vincent's picture
Alyssa Vincent
Contact:
LIB 357 (3rd floor of the Library)
a-vincent@neiu.edu
(773) 442-4411